File Your Divorce Now
In the state of Alaska, there are no minimum residency requirements in order to initiate a divorce. Although there is no residency requirement, a party does need to be a resident of the state of Alaska. This means that you do not need to have lived in the state for any period of time but one party must need to prove that they currently live in the state. In the issue of a contested divorce where there is an unwilling spouse or minor children, there may be a longer residency requirement issued. In an uncontested divorce with no weather issues, divorces may be finalized as soon as 30 days from the date of filing.
If you were serving in the military and Alaska is not your state of residence, you may still file in the state if you have been stationed in the military base or installation in Alaska for a minimum of 30 days.
After having completed many cases for military members both at home and abroad, BuyDivorcePapers.com offer is an ideal solution for military members stationed in Alaska or elsewhere. Check out our online divorce options and see if they will work for you.
The state of Alaska recognizes both at fault and no-fault grounds for divorce.
The no-fault grounds for divorce include but are not limited to an incompatibility of temperament, the irretrievable breakdown of the marriage, and living apart and separate without cohabitation.
Some of the at-fault grounds for divorce in the state of Alaska include adultery, substance-abuse, habitual drunkenness, an incurable mental disease in confinement for 18 months, conviction of a felony, cruelty, and abandonment for over one year.
Although it is not always awarded by the court in a contested divorce, parties may agree upon shared legal custody of the children. In a shared legal custody situation, both parties will have equal decision-making power over important decisions regarding the children. Physical custody is determined according to the best interest of the child and may depend somewhat on the parents' agreement.
When making child custody decisions the court will often keep the following factors in mind – – the needs of the children, ability of the parent to meet those needs, the child’s wishes, bond between the child and parents, length of time child has lived in a particular environment, and the desire and ability of the custodial parent to allow frequent contact between non-custodial parent and child.
Barring special circumstances, Alaska's standard state child support guidelines will apply in virtually every case. Both parties' gross income and other child-related expenses will be taken into account when calculating with child support. Child Support continues until the child reaches age 18 and may be extended through the completion of his or her secondary education.
In order to achieve an uncontested divorce, either party in a divorce situation may file a motion with the court requesting mediation at any time within 30 days after a complaint or cross-complaint is filed. The parties may choose to submit any or all issues for mediation so that they may proceed to court on an uncontested basis.
Court filing fees in Alaska are in addition to the cost of using BuyDivorcePapers.com. This cost may vary from county to county. Check with your local courthouse for more information about the filing fees.